Experimenting With Meditation

Growing up as a kid, I read encyclopedias and watched shows that featured feats of mental superpowers like psychic powers and the use of the Force (not exactly mental but let’s not go there). I was naturally quite mind blown as mental powers have this mundane appeal – the possibility that anyone could have it. I mean, everyone has a brain and can think and…yeah. So, there comes a time in everyone’s life where one would squeeze their eyes shut and try their very best to mentally shift the cup or whatever object on the table right (don’t even try to deny it). I used to think that I myself had some mental powers when I squeezed my eyes so tight that psychedelic rings of colours start flashing by. I actually believed that I was activating some hidden part of my brain and would do so before making important decisions (like which ice cream flavour to ask Mum to buy) or when I felt carsick.

So, is there really a hidden potential to the floating gray matter up there? And even if there is, can we actually unlock and tap on it? In pop culture, the most recent mention of such themes brings me to Lucy, the movie where Scarjo gets drugged up to use 100% of the brain’s capacity when normal peasants could only use a tenth of it. It got people talking about the possibility of maximising the brain’s capacity, the atrociousness of how it was portrayed (defying gravity, time travel) and among the articles, a few recurring themes occurred. People frequently compared such superhuman feats to that of Buddhist monks who practice meditation and control their metabolism and expand their mind’s reach.

The first time I considered meditation was while watching one of Mimi Ikonn’s vlogs on wellness and how starting your day with meditation would be THE definitive change one needs to incorporate into their lives. Disregarding all the negativity regarding over-hyped wellness gurus, there is some reason to this madness that is meditation.

Why would anyone pick up meditation? I do not believe that there needs to be a compelling reason, or sudden circumstances or events that will push one to set aside a good 10 to 30 minutes of their time to explore, reset and cultivate their mind. Personally, I love (or rather, am unable to help myself) thinking. People who know me know that I overthink things too much, be it in relationships or chemistry theories. Perhaps it is fate that brought me to really consider taking up meditation. At a recent book fair, I chanced upon a book titled “A Meditator’s Diary” which chronicled the experiences of a western woman’s journey to learn meditation in Thailand’s monasteries. A Thai temple happens to be just next to my house and apart from the convenience, it seems to hold a certain sense of predestination (in no religious sense though). And perhaps, last of all but not most of all, I may have come to the realisation that this whole affair with overthinking might really be the bane of my life.

So far, it has been a week since I started and meditation has yielded interesting effects on my outlooks. I refrain from using the term results for meditation is truly not a means to any ends. Perhaps if time allows I shall go into deeper details.

Leave a Reply

